Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Riverain - "Overstepping The Verge" [2010]

Artist: Riverain
Title: Overstepping The Verge
Genre: Progressive Metal, Technical Death Metal
Country: Russia
Year: 2010

Track List:
  1. Falling Asleep (Intro)
  2. The Dream
  3. Breaking Test
  4. Heart of Steel
  5. Wizard
  6. Tears Shed in the Sand
  7. Madman
  8. K-129
  9. Look Me in the Eyes
  10. Spirits of the Forest
  11. The Dream Ends (Outro)
A rare example of a successful metal band coming from a relatively small Russian town, that isn't yet another Iron Maiden / Aria clone. Riverain were formed in 2003 in Anapa, a resort town in southern Russia, initially as a progressive/power metal band, but then shifted to a more extreme kind of sound. Their debut full-length album "Overstepping The Verge" is very well produced; however, the music would seem not very accessible or catchy for an average melodic death metal listener. It's also worth noting that Anastasia Ligotskaya's vocals DOESN'T remind me of Angela Gossow, even though Riverain are frequently compared to Arch Enemy (as for me - both are female-fronted death metal bands, but the similarities end there).

No comments:

Post a Comment