Tuesday, January 7, 2014

Scanner - "Hypertrace" [1988]

Artist: Scanner
Title: Hypertrace
Genre: Heavy/Power Metal
Country: Germany
Year: 1988

Track List:
  1. Warp 7
  2. Terrion
  3. Locked Out
  4. Across the Universe
  5. R.M.U. (Reticular Modular Unit)
  6. Grapes of Fear
  7. Retaliation Positive
  8. Killing Fields
  9. Wizard Force
Since I've started to post classic metal albums once again, why not to post this gem as well? As I've already said, it's very hard to find some good speed/power metal with science fiction-themed lyrics. This release is a prime example of what I'm looking for, along with "Skeptics Apocalypse" by Agent Steel and some other albums that I've posted here before under the "heavy metal" and "power metal" tags.

Musically, "Hypertrace" is very good 80's heavy/power metal, but what makes this album so special is its conceptual sci-fi storyline, with a very apparent anti-war message. The original pressing of "Hypertrace" consisted of 8 tracks ("Wizard Force" is a CD bonus, and there was also a bonus track named "Galactos" on the Japanese CD edition). However, the track sequence doesn't actually follow the story. The correct track order should be as follows:
  1. Grapes of Fear
  2. Locked Out
  3. Across the Universe
  4. Wizard Force
  5. Retaliation Positive
  6. Galactos
  7. Warp 7
  8. Killing Fields
  9. R.M.U.
  10. Terrion

No comments:

Post a Comment