Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Depressive Age - "Electric Scum" [1996]

Artist: Depressive Age
Title: Electric Scum
Genre: Technical Thrash Metal
Country: Germany
Year: 1996

Track List:
  1. Electric Scum
  2. Cairo Crabat
  3. Remember
  4. Teenage Temples
  5. Small Town Boy (Bronski Beat cover)
  6. Featherflute
  7. Toyland Hills
  8. Companero Song
  9. New Machine Wisdom
  10. Polar Athletic Son
  11. Weird Boy
  12. Sports Yells
Depressive Age started in 1988 in Berlin under the name "Blackout". Since the release of their 3rd full-length album ("Symbols for the Blue Times") in 1994, their sound became more experimental and "industrial-esque", moving farther away from the standard 80's thrash metal sound. It's most evident on "Electric Scum", which features science fiction-influenced progressive rock/metal with industrial elements and the thrash metal "nucleus" (if I may say so). Some of the tracks on "Electric Scum" are really catchy, for example "Remember" or "Cairo Crabat". Despite that, Depressive Age (later just D-Age) never became a well-known band and cease their musical activities around 2001. Anyway, their legacy (especially later stuff like "Electric Scum") definitely doesn't deserve to be forgotten.

No comments:

Post a Comment