Tuesday, July 9, 2013

Cyberya - "Mindcontrol" [2001]

Artist: Cyberya
Title: Mindcontrol
Genre: Industrial Power Metal
Country: Germany
Year: 2001

Track List:
  1. Ministry of T.E.C.H.
  2. One Hundred Ways
  3. Since I Loved You
  4. Digital Heroes
  5. Invisible
  6. Addicted to Warfare
  7. 2000 Years
  8. Mindcontrol
  9. Born
  10. Rumours
  11. Bloodbrothers
This album is a rare example of industrial electronics and power metal mixed together in a really good way. Don't expect to hear something like Amaranthe - Cyberya is both a truly power metal band and an industrial metal band with sci-fi/dystopian image and aesthetics. As you probably already know, I highly value power metal that's influenced by science fiction (especially "hard" sci-fi) and not the usual fantasy stuff about knights and dragons - but it's very, very hard to find. Pulsar, Scanner, Cannon... maybe Gamma Ray at times, and what else? Anyway, if you share my taste, then "Mindcontrol" probably won't leave you disappointed (at least tracks like "Ministry of Tech" and "Digital Heroes" are great). Too bad it's their only album and they aren't going to release anythis else like that, nor there are any similar bands around (well, maybe Xe-None somewhat resemble them, but not too much...)


  1. Maybe you'd like Keldian. They don't deal with hard sci-fi, but lyrical themes such as "Space, Future of Mankind, Hyperion Cantos" can be close enough to your taste.

    1. Thanks for the suggestion. I've listened to their debut album ("Heaven's Gate") which isn't a masterpiece yet sounds quite nice. Will listen to the rest of their discography on the next week, probably.