Wednesday, July 12, 2017

Universe - s/t [1985]

Artist: Universe
Title: Universe
Genre: Melodic Heavy Metal
Country: Sweden
Release date: 1985

Track List:
  1. Rollin' On
  2. Stories from the Old Days
  3. Weekend Warrior
  4. Lonely Child
  5. Looking for an Answer
  6. Angel
  7. Woman
  8. Strong Vibration
  9. Burning Machine
  10. Question of Time
"...Universe is about as 80's as you can get. Take the band logo that looks more like a company that makes blank VHS tapes, for instance"

A pretty fitting description for one of the best Swedish metal bands from the 80s... wait, is it really metal or just melodic hard rock? Well, they're definitely heavier than their much more famous compatriots, Europe, that the other reviewer on has compared them too. While not all tracks on this LP are equally great, the ones like "Rollin' On", "Looking for an Answer" and "Burning Machine" are extremely catchy, and the whole album can definitely be recommeded if you like that melodic post-NWOBHM sound.

No comments:

Post a Comment