Sunday, February 7, 2016

KryoniK Moon - "SuperLuna" [2014]

Artist: KryoniK Moon
Title: SuperLuna
Genre: Dark Electro
Country: Russia
Release date: 2014

Track List:
  1. Kryonik Sage
  2. Illusion
  3. Red Queen
  4. Letzte Wache
  5. Phobia
  6. Vollmond
  7. Alfa
  8. Tron
  9. Specter
  10. Vollmond (Bespa Kumamero remix)
  11. Vollmond (halo remix by re:\legion)
  12. Red Queen (Purple Fog Side remix)
  13. Tron (Nitemare Machine remix)
Kryonik Moon was formed in 2011 by Alina aka "Tera Mizuki" as a continuation of her earlier dark electro project Hypno[Revil]. The debut album of Kryonik Moon, titled "SuperLuna", is dark electro too, although it's a bit more on the pop side of things. The band also describes their music as "visual kei", which is typically used as a description for a wide range of commercial Japanese rock, metal, and electronic bands which all have one thing in common: the makeup & stage costumes of the musicians are more important than the music itself. I personally never was into glam rock or visual kei, and I prefer more minimalistic clothing styles, so my pick would be their photos in a more traditional dark electro style:

As for the music, it's fairly good (Alina's English pronunciation is not ideal, but it isn't a big problem), but I have a feeling they're a bit late to the party with such an album. If it was released in 2009, when the public interest in dark electro (and "Schwarze Szene" in general) was at its peak here, it surely would be a breakthrough on the post-Soviet scene. By 2014, this sort of music and fashion already fell out of style, although I'm sure KM still can gather a decent audience in Moscow (not sure about elsewhere). I know of a couple of similar projects that started circa 2009-2010, but I'll post them later (if I will at all, because I need to put this blog on hold for some time, and I'm not sure when I'll be back on here).

No comments:

Post a Comment