Friday, January 25, 2019

Dunkel:heit ‎- "Obey" [1995]

Artist: Dunkel:heit
Title: Obey
Genre: Industrial Metal
Country: Norway
Release date: 1995

Track List:
  1. Untitled
  2. Soulscape Fading
  3. Untitled
  4. Finding the Way
  5. Untitled
  6. Separate Ways
  7. LRB9-51
  8. Thrive
  9. Untitled
  10. Conformity Control
  11. Anarchaoz
  12. Untitled
  13. Solitary Survival
  14. On and On
  15. Untitled
  16. True Believers In False Prophets (Origami Replika)
  17. Technol
  18. Untitled
  19. Lozt Love (Origami Replika)
  20. Chorus of Contemplation
  21. Untitled
  22. Munchscape
  23. Untitled
Disregard the stupid cover art, this album is a very interesting historical artifact for anyone who loves Red Harvest and the associated projects. Pretty much all I know about Dunkel:heit can be found in this blog (which is quite fine and highly recommended to check out):
Dunkelheit (aka Dunkel:heit) started out in the summer of '92 as a part-time industrial-style project containing members from the industrial metal band Red Harvest.
After recording some songs, they decided to keep going and started recruiting more members.
Around a year later they recorded a demo on an 8-track recorder.
Instead of pushing their demo heavily around, they band started playing around with the idea of doing a compilation CD.
The CD, entitled "The Reincarnation Of The Sun", was released in February 1994 by Dunkel Prod. and contained (mostly) exclusive material from Red Harvest, Anstalt, Valhall, Dunkelheit, Remyl, Piledriver and Humid.
Shortly after this release, Suggestion Records got in touch with the band and offered a deal for a 7" EP.
"More Than Meets The Third Eye" was recorded with four new songs and released in the summer of '94.
Pleased with the result of this 7" EP, Suggestion offered a deal for a full-length CD.
The material was recorded in March '95, and the CD "Obey" was released in the end of the summer '95.
Since then the project was put on hold.
While this release (a quite lengthy one, by the way; the "Untitled" tracks are  mostly short spoken word interludes) is not exactly a masterpiece, it certainly has very nice moments (i.e. "Soulscape Fading" being one of the best industrial metal songs from the first half of 1990s I've heard so far), and it carries the same inhuman/mechanistic atmosphere that we love Red Harvest albums for. Fans of Fear Factory and other mid-90s industrial death metal shouldn't be dissapointed as well. You can check out "Obey" using the link above, or, alternatively, on Youtube:

No comments:

Post a Comment