Sunday, December 20, 2020

:Wumpscut: - "Bunkertor 7" [1995]

Artist: :Wumpscut:
Title: Bunkertor 7
Genre: Harsh EBM, Electro-Industrial
Country: Germany
Release date: 1995

Track List: 

  1. Open Gate
  2. Torn Skin
  3. Capital Punishment
  4. Die In Winter
  5. Bunkertor 7
  6. Thorns
  7. Mortal Highway
  8. Bunkertor 7 (Reprise)
  9. Dying Culture
  10. Corroded Breed
  11. Tell Me Why
  12. Close Gate

An absolutely classic album that was recommended to me roughly 10 years ago, along with "Burn Process" by Tactical Sekt: "From what I know about your musical tastes, these two albums will blow your mind!". Indeed, this one has instantly became one of my all-time favourites (I wasn't very impressed by Tactical Sekt, though). I love all Rudy Ratzinger's works from the second half of 1990s, but this one is certainly best of the best, with such killer tracks as "Die in Winter", "Mortal Highway", and of course, the title track, "Bunkertor 7". These tracks exactly represent my idea of harsh electro-industrial sound, and it's probably the heaviest album by :W: (maybe even one of the most aggressive electro-industrial albums of all times), with many tracks sounding almost like metal despite being electro.

Rudy Ratzinger retired from making music in 2017, although he unexpectedly released a teaser for an upcoming new album about a month ago. Anyway, he still keeps re-releasing his old stuff, and here's the version of "Bunkertor 7" called "Concentrated Camp Edition" (nice wordplay!), with a lot of remixes as bonus tracks:

No comments:

Post a Comment