Wednesday, April 27, 2011

Rockland Ladies - "Introducing The Rockland Ladies" [1999]

Artist: The Rockland Ladies
Title: Introducing The Rockland Ladies
Genre: Rockabilly
Country: Ukraine
Release date: 1999

Track List:
  1. C'mon Everybody
  2. Sigh Now, Cry Now
  3. Be-Bop-A-Lula
  4. Dancing Therapy
  5. Train
  6. Now Or Never
  7. Summertime
  8. Honey Don't
  9. Rocking Demons
  10. Werewolves
The first all-female psychobilly band from Eastern Europe? Wow, I'm already interested. Wait, they're from Ukraine? Honestly I even couldn't think that Ukrainian rock scene had something like this in 1990s. The music is a bit generic and forgettable, but the very fact of existence of such band is interesting.

The Hillbilly Moon Explosion - "Buy, Beg or Steal" [2011]

Artist: The Hillbilly Moon Explosion
Title: Buy, Beg or Steal
Genre: Rockabilly
Country: Switzerland
Release date: 2011

Track List:
  1. Buy Beg or Steal
  2. Broken Heart
  3. She Kicked Me To The Curb
  4. Natascia
  5. Trouble & Strife
  6. My Love For Evermore
  7. Night of the Living Ted
  8. Imagine A World
  9. Goin' To Milano
  10. Touch Me
  11. Rock'n'Roll Girl
  12. Chalk Farm Breakdown
  13. Enola Gay
The Hillbilly Moon Explosion is a well-known Swiss act playing "vintage" rockabilly / hillbilly / surf rock with predominately female vocals. Their newest album is called "Buy, Beg or Steal", and of course you can "steal" it - but it's better to buy it, if you have an opportunity ;)

Monday, April 25, 2011

Niggas With Guitars - "Ethnic Frenzy" [2011]

Artist: Niggas With Guitars
Title: Ethnic Frenzy
Label: Digitalis
Genre: Ambient / Experimental
Country: unknown (USA?)
Release date: 2011

Track List:
  1. Okkultistismist
  2. Milky White
  3. Ethiopia Control
  4. Ethnic Frenzy
  5. Blacksnake
  6. E.F.O.
"Ethnic Frenzy" is the latest release by Niggas With Guitars up to date, and it's definitely much better than their early stuff. This album is less "easy listening", more experimental and drone-based. Check out the tracks "Ethnic Frenzy" and "E.F.O." - that's what I call really good ambient music. Unfortunately, there's almost no info about the band. Their myspace states they're from Nigeria, but it's most likely a joke, and they're probably from the United States.

Niggas With Guitars - "Negative Space" [2009]

Artist: Niggas With Guitars
Title: Negative Space
Label: Smokeland Studios
Genre: Ambient / Experimental
Country: unknown (USA?)
Release date: 2009

Track List:
  1. Next Era Crush
  2. Forbidden Dreams
  3. Forget Stuffed I
  4. Forget Stuffed II
  5. Deembryonaciated
  6. The Voyage
One of my LiveJournal friends pointed me to this project, and I decided to give it a listen - mostly because of the funny band name. The music turned out to be surprisingly good, but not "extreme" or "noisy" at all. Some music catalogues define Niggas With Guitars' genre as "drone", but I can't hear any drone on this album, it's just instrumental ambient / easy listening. Overall a decent release, somewhat comparable to Kesson Shoujo's "Childhood In The Housing Complex". But if you haven't heard about this band before (and you probably do), I recommend to check out first their latest album, "Ethnic Frenzy".

Saturday, April 23, 2011

1476 - "A Wolf's Age" [2009]

Artist: 1476
Title: A Wolf's Age
Genre: Horror Punk / Gothic Rock
Country: USA
Release date: 2009

Track List:
  1. Anno Domini
  2. Swallow The Sun
  3. Son Of The Hunter
  4. This Is Not Lucid
  5. Dithyramb
  6. Evoke You
  7. Herne’s Oak
  8. Oriens Astrum
  9. The Demons In The Circle
  10. The Cleansing Scourge
  11. Medicine Man
  12. Der Vampyr
  13. The Wanderer
  14. Closed Casket Heart
Well, if some of you don't like psychobilly with female vocals, here's quite similar stuff, but with male vocalist. There isn't much info about this band, but their music is quite good. Check out the tune "Swallow The Sun", it's really catchy...

Monday, April 4, 2011

Horrorpops - "Horror Tunes" [2009]

Artist: Horrorpops
Title: Horror Tunes
Genre: Psychobilly
Country: Denmark
Release date: 2009

Track List:
  1. Horrorbeach
  2. Thelma & Louise
  3. Miss Take
  4. Walk Like a Zombie
  5. Hitchcock Starlet
  6. Ghouls
  7. Kiss Kiss Kill Kill
  8. Bring It On!
  9. You vs. Me
  10. Heading for the Disco
  11. Julia
  12. Who's Leading You Now
  13. MissFit
  14. Hit'n'Run
  15. It's Been So Long
  16. Psychobitches Outta Hell
  17. Rebel Yell (Live)
One more band in the vein of Kitty In A Casket... and yes, they use female vocals too! The vocalist's voice is quite good, and reminds me of Deadline (see their album "Bring The House Down", which I've posted here about a month ago). The music is nice too, though a bit repetitive at times.