Thursday, December 3, 2020

Fall Of Because - "Life Is Easy" [1999]

Artist: Fall Of Because
Title: Life Is Easy
Genre: Industrial Metal, "Monolithic Industrial"
Country: UK
Release date: 1999

Track List: 

  1. Devastator
  2. Life Is Easy
  3. Middle Amerika
  4. Grind
  5. Ecstacy of Hate
  6. Malewhoreslag
  7. Lifefucker-Shitsucker
  8. Merciless
  9. Survive
  10. "Fight Show" (bonus)
  11. "X-Mas Special" (bonus)

Fall of Because, formed by Justin Broadrick (a teenager at the time) initially under the name O.P.D. (Officially Pronounced Dead) in 1983, were what would later become Godflesh. Their 1986 demo "Extirpate" is widely believed to be one of the first (if not the very first) industrial metal releases, along with some early stuff by Swans, Head of David and Malhavoc. The full-length "Life is Easy", released much later, consists mostly of remastered versions of the songs off "Extirpate", and also contans two lo-fi live recording as bonus tracks. 

Musically, it's of course similar to Godflesh, but I personally prefer it to anything released under that name, as it's even more dark and atmospheric. Very innovative music for its time, that's for sure. Apart from industrial metal/rock fans, this album might be of interest for those who are into sludge metal (or even early grindcore, since some members of Fall of Because had rather close ties to Napalm Death back then).

No comments:

Post a Comment