Monday, June 17, 2013

Satyrian - "Eternitas" [2006]

Artist: Satyrian
Title: Eternitas
Genre: Gothic Metal
Country: Netherlands
Year: 2006

Track List:
  1. Eternitas
  2. Invictus
  3. Feel the Rush
  4. My Legacy
  5. The Dark Gift
  6. Sacred Lies
  7. Bridge of Death
  8. Fall from Grace
  9. No Tears, No Embrace
  10. The Haunted Lovers
  11. This Dream
  12. Ewigkeit
Satyrian are a self-proclaimed "international gothic rock band combining dark atmospheric lyrics with wave, rock, classical orchestration, piano, and heavy guitars" (the band members are originally from different countries, but all of them currently reside in the Netherlands). "Eternitas" is their first and currently the only full-length release. I'd recommend it to those who's searching for some "unorthodox" gothic metal, with influences ranging from dark electro and industrial to classic rock ballads. Although it's definitely not an excellent album (hardly above 7.5/10, but it isn't bad for a debut release), and some people may be uncomfortable with the vocals, I'd agree with one of the reviewers on "Fans of the genre can add one point to the rating as they most likely will like the album. For us others it is an album quite pleasant to listen to, but not for a long time". BTW, if you liked the electro/industrial aspect of this album, I'd suggest listening to another release by Satyrian - "The Dark Gift" EP, which features several remixes of the songs off this full-length, in more "electronic"/danceable manner. Download link for "Eternitas", found in a random blog:

No comments:

Post a Comment