Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Octavia Sperati - "Grace Submerged" [2007]

Artist: Octavia Sperati
Title: Grace Submerged
Genre: Gothic/Doom Metal
Country: Norway
Year: 2007

Track List:
  1. Guilty Am I
  2. Moonlit
  3. Going North
  4. Don't Believe a Word (Thin Lizzy cover)
  5. ...And Then the World Froze
  6. The Final Rest
  7. Deprivation
  8. Provenance of Hate
  9. Dead End Poem
  10. Submerged
Norwegian girls from Bergen, playing a heavier (doom-influenced) but still very beautiful kind of gothic metal. Their debut album "Winter Enclosure" (2005) is good too, but this one is my favourite. As I've said, they aren't like the other female fronted goth metal bands (and definitely don't suffer from the "Nightwish syndrome"), but on the other hand, their music is as close as it gets to my definition of "gothic metal". The atmosphere on "Grace Submerged" is great, apparently influenced by the nature and the winters in Norway. If you need a download link, you can search for it on filestube, as always.

On "Grace Submerged" received 95 points out of 100, with a comment: "Not bad... for girls". I'd give this album no less than 9 out of 10 too - and not only because it was recorded by an (almost)all-female band, which is still not very common on metal scene. Right now the band is on hiatus, the guitarist (Gyri) plays in Tristania, and the lead singer (Silje) now sings in The Gathering, replacing Anneke van Giersbergen.

No comments:

Post a Comment