Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Spitfire - "First Attack" [1987]

Artist: Spitfire
Title: First Attack
Genre: Heavy Metal
Country: Greece
Release date: 1987

Track List:
  1. Street Fighter
  2. Lead Me On
  3. Whispers
  4. Lady of the Night
  5. Explosion
  6. Walk Alone
  7. Evil Thoughts Around
  8. Guilty Dreams

First or not the first attack... but this album is definitely among the first more or less successful metal releases made in Greece. "First Attack" was released on a major label (EMI Music), so it may have a little "commercial" flavour, but nevertheless it's a great album. My favourite tracks are ""Lead Me On", "Lady Of The Night" and "Explosion". Unfortunately, the vocalist of Spitfire was badly injured in a car accident shortly after "First Attack" was recorded, so it remained the only proper release of them (excluding their 1990 live album and 1996 compilation of unreleased tracks) until 2009.


1 comment: