Thursday, December 15, 2016

V/A - "Georgian Post-Punk Compilation" [2010]

Artist: V/A
Title: Georgian Post-Punk Compilation
Genre: Post-Punk
Country: Georgia
Release date: 2010 (recorded during 90s)

Track List: 
  1. Afternoon Version - Champagne Gold
  2. Cerili (Amorali) - Shishveli Xeebi (Naked Trees)
  3. Children's Medicine - Shedikhar Tkheshi (Entering the Forest)
  4. Genetic Code - Artificial Love
  5. Kumle - Televizori
  6. Mother on Mondays - House Of Love
  7. PLAKQSA - Sonia
  8. Qisho Da Inteligencia - Cheshmariteba (Truth)
  9. Spandera Da Kompratia - Datom Ramtove Zemze
  10. Taqsi - Chemi Saxli Jojoxets Hgavs (My House Looks Like Hell)
  11. Vietnam Radio - Ann's Room
  12. Marlene Dietrich - Do Vstrechi
Not many people know that Georgia (of course I'm talking not about the US state, but a country in the Caucasus) had a thriving post-punk / new wave scene during the late 80s and early 90s. However, this community has recently ran a great series of posts that helped to unearth quite a few forgotten gems from that era. That's where I found this compilation as well. Unfortunately, it looks like its author has deceased, but I don't know for sure what has happened to him. Either way, his blog was great, certainly recommended to everyone who's interested in discovering Georgian underground electronic music.

No comments:

Post a Comment