Saturday, August 21, 2010

Diaokhi - "To Raise The Iron Throne" [2000]

Artist: Diaokhi
Title: To Raise The Iron Throne
Genre: Melodic Black/Pagan Metal
Country: Georgia
Release date: 2000
Size: 100 mb

Track List:
  1. Prologue
  2. Universe, Arise!
  3. A Night of Doleful Farewell
  4. A Long Road Starts For You From Here (The Last Night's Sacrifice)
  5. The Wave Murmured My Name...
  6. Brothers in Arms, Companions Mine
  7. The Twilight of an Age
  8. Behold the Barren Kingdom of the Graves
  9. They Know not Whose the Voice is Which They Hark (Stormclouds over the Caucasus)
  10. The Reign of the Iron Crown (Epilogue)
One more black metal release from a very unexpected place. If this album was released by, for example, a Finnish band, it most probably would be considered good, but nothing special. But symphomic black/pagan metal from Georgia... it's something really outstanding. As far as I know, the underground music scene in the whole Caucasus is very small. The only Georgian industrial project I know is Post Industrial Boys - and it's not really industrial, just minimal/synthpop. According to Farid from Mechanic Fist, there's no industrial in Georgia, and MF is the one and only industrial project from Azerbaijan. The Caucasian metal scene may be bigger, but only a little, that's why I was so excited to find this album by Diaokhi. Their lyrics deal with Georgian mythology and ancient history, too bad I know only a very little about these subjects... And the music is actually quite enjoyable for any fan of melodic black metal. Don't know if the band is still active today (on Metal-Archives it's listed as active), but looks like this album is their only release.

No comments:

Post a Comment