Wednesday, September 30, 2020

Korova - "A Kiss in the Charnel Fields" [1994]

Artist: Korova
Title: A Kiss in the Charnel Fields
Genre: Avant-garde Black Metal
Country: Austria
Year: 1994

Track List:

  1. Intro: Der Weltenbrand / Das Kreuz und der Metzenapfel
  2. After the Fruits of Ephemeral Pulchritude
  3. Lachrydeus Mittelgard (Slâhan fôntagr inn awêþi)
  4. Entlebt in tristem Morgenblut
  5. Intro: Im Teich erlischt ein Bächlein
  6. Awakening from Perpetual Contemplation (Yellow Mahogany Tomb I)
  7. Latin Dreams in Turpentine
  8. Nordsciltim - In the Filth Where All Cull Perambulates Pain
  9. Sálømeh, des Teufels Braut
  10. A Kiss in the Charnel Fields

My first thought as a Russian speaker about this band was: "Wait, what sort of a name for a black metal band is Korova?" Then I realized that the name was taken from "A Clockwork Orange" by Anthony Burgess, but a name that literally means "cow" is still ridiculous for a black metal band (even if it's a very avant-garde one). Later they changed their name to Korovakill (which is even more ridiculous), and then to Chryst (after the band's founder Christof Niederwieser, which was the only remaining original member at that point).

Just as expected from the unusual band name and the fact that all three members of Korova were also involved in Angizia, the music on this album is quite complex and avant-garde, especially by the measures of early 90s black metal scene. Some people compare it to their Norwegian contemporaries Arcturus and Covenant, some - to the later Scandinavian avant-garde metal acts such as Theory in Practice and Ram-Zet, but the easiest description of this album would be just "the black metal version of Angizia". Anyway, the metal scene in Austria wasn't ready for this kind of stuff at the time, and Korova's subsequent album "Echowelt" was rejected by all labels and never released.

No comments:

Post a Comment