Sunday, April 2, 2017

Unit Wail - "Pangaea Proxima" [2012]

Artist: Unit Wail
Title: Pangaea Proxima
Genre: Progressive Rock, Avant-Prog
Country: France
Release date: 2012 (2016 remaster)

Track List:
  1. Mesozoïc Cities
  2. Ombos
  3. Télété
  4. Sargasso Sea
  5. Outerspace
  6. Humanoïd Fish From Encelade
  7. Home of Nowhere
  8. Magnétostriction
  9. Holocene Extinction
  10. Shambhala
  11. Three Eyes
  12. Subdeath 
Unit Wail is the latest up to date project of Frank W. Fromy of Shub-Niggurath fame. Initially I was sort of disappointed by this album because, judging from its concept, I expected something more in the vein of Solaris or Hidria Spacefolk, but heavy avant-prog rooted in the previous Fromy's project 000 (Triple Zero) is fine too. French prog-rock bands really know how to do this sort of dark and "cosmic" sound the right way! You can read a more detailed review of "Pangaea Proxima" here, and its remastered version (the original 2012 version was recorded and mixed under difficult conditions) is available on Bandcamp:

No comments:

Post a Comment